Finishing Things

2011 - The Year for Finishing Things

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to finish things and I hadn’t expected the rush of pleasure at finishing this quilt (clearly a beginner’s effort, but it will keep someone warm anyway).

Paying attention to the dire predictions for the future can bring any of us down, so I’m paying particular attention to joy and wanted to share this with you, not because it’s a work of art, but because I wanted to share the fun. The pieced top was made by some anonymous woman my mother met a few years ago, and when my favorite comforter was threadbare, I decided to recover it with fabric I already had – how sustainable of me, eh?

My mother helped tie the layers together and I used old sheets for the back and to enlarge the top to the size I needed. I recommend finishing something – it takes one thing off our psychic to-do list and it seems that by doing so, we assert our belief in the future, or some such affirmative thing. Yay!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment